top of page

Cinnamon Flavored Cream of Wheat

Cream of Wheat has been a long standing tradition in my family. I remember many mornings we were stuffed with a bowl of cream of wheat before heading off to school. I must say during these moments, we never got sick or hospitalized for any reason. I'm assuming there were some type of benefit to consuming such a delicacy. I am certain other Caribbean families adopted this tradition over the years as well. Although I am traditionally an oats lover, I decided to try this recipe using cream of wheat. To my surprise I enjoyed it thoroughly. I also went ahead and decorated it with a cinnamon stick, chopped apple, nuts and seeds which enhanced it so much more.


Recipe

1/4 cup of cream of wheat

1 1/4 cup of water

1/4 cup of silk organic soy-milk or any unsweetened nut milk

1/4 teaspoon of cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon of ground ginger

1/8 teaspoon of clove

3 tablespoons of brown sugar


Toppings:

Half an apple chopped

1 Cinnamon stick

Sprinkle of sesame seeds

Flaked almonds

1 teaspoon of cherry jam



Process:

In a small saucepan place cream of wheat, water, cinnamon, ground ginger and clove over medium heat. Stir mixture frequently to prevent lumps. once thickened add milk and sugar. Stir constantly until a thickened smooth consistency is reached. Remove from heat. Place in a bowl or mug and add toppings listed above or of your choice.


Enjoy!

Dannie




10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page