top of page

Vegan Mushroom & Spinach Sandwich

Hello Everyone!


In today's post, I will be sharing one of my newer recipes with you. There is nothing better than a good sandwich. I remember while growing up, my dad would create these amazing cheese sandwiches that we would take to lunch for school. In Barbados, we call it "toast bread and cheese". Unfortunately, I couldn't enjoy these delicacies much longer after my migraine diagnosis and longed for the day I could sink my teeth into another cheese sandwich. That disappointment only lasted a few years until I discovered many ways to create dairy-free cheese and was able to enjoy past and present foods with cheese added.



This toasted Vegan sandwich was created out of curiosity and with a twist. I decided to use two super rich foods, spinach and mushrooms. Mushrooms are one of my go-to items for soups and pasta dishes. Spinach....not so much. However, I decided to blend the two to make this delicious creation.


Here are four facts about Spinach and Mushrooms

  1. Spinach is an anti-inflammatory and protects the brain from aging.

  2. Spinach assists the body in managing blood pressure levels.

  3. Mushrooms are rich in fiber and protein.

  4. Mushrooms also decrease the risk of health conditions such as Alzheimer's disease, cancer, and diabetes.



Recipe

1/3 cup of shredded spinach

1/2 cup of chopped mushrooms

1 garlic clove (sliced)

2 slices of whole-grain/whole wheat bread

1/3 cup of Daiya Sharp Cheddar Cheese (shredded)

2 tbsp of vegetable oil

1/4 tsp of paprika

1/4 tsp of chili powder

1/3 tsp of seasoned salt


Butter for the bread.


Equipment needed

1 Skillet


How To

Place skillet on medium heat and add oil to the pan.

Add garlic and saute until slightly brown.

Add mushrooms, paprika, chili powder, and seasoned salt.

Stir the mixture until mushrooms are evenly coated with spices.

Drain any excess water from spinach and add to the mixture in skillet.

Stir the mixture vigorously to prevent the spinach from burning at the bottom.

Scrape the mixture into a plate or bowl and set aside. Clean skillet and reuse to toast bread.


Butter the bread on each side with plant-based or regular butter.

Place buttered bread in the skillet and let it sit for 3-4 mins on each side.

Place mushroom and spinach mixture along with shredded cheese between bread slices.

Slice and eat!


Let me know if you enjoyed this recipe. Comment below or on our Instagram feed @easyvegetarianlife!


Bye Loves!



16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page